Backpacker Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  3.9
 Cleanliness  4.3
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.1
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  4.2

"Nice hostal"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Wilbert F. of Ommen, Netherlands
Reviewed:   November 17, 2022  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2022     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostal is basic, but all is there. It's very clean.
Close the te main park in a relatively calm street.
The people who work there are very nice and helpful, the dogs are too cute
The terras is nothing special, but the view is nice and there is an kitchen.
I would recommend it if you want to relax and be close to the centre.
The personel are great, but the part I really don't like is that they work 6 days a week, also stay the night. And there isn't a bed for them, and they basicly run the whole operation, never saw the owners if they ever come over.

"very helpful staff, clean hostal"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Lisa K. of berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   February 6, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2020     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostal is very clean and quiet. From the terraze you have beautiful viewes on vulcano acatenango and fuego. The staff helped us to organize transports and they took care of giving us a refund as we were not able to travel due to illness.

"Hostal Antigua"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Karen P. of Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed:   December 25, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location. Clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the dogs Luna and Cleo.

"Hotel Antigua"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Philip B. of Ticino, Switzerland
Reviewed:   December 12, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean and quiet, though quite formal and with lists and lists of regulations which (if broken) would lead to immediate financial repercussions. Little infos with regards the local area and diverse options.
All in all, functional but not friendly and welcoming

"Great option in central Antigua"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Alex F. of Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed:   August 28, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cute property just a couple blocks off the Central Park, surrounded by shops, bars, restaurants, and businesses of all kinds. Accommodations are simple, but comfortable and clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. This place served me well during my most recent business travel to Guatemala.

"Excellent Hostal"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Angela R. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   August 13, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I hace travelled with a friend in Guatemala for a month and we spent 9 nights at the Hostal Antigua. We really recommend it! Ever and his wife Valesca are really kind and welcoming, they are also disponible and can give you advices and information about Antigua and other destinations in Guatemala. Ever has organized for us some of our transferts in shuttles to others citys in Guatemala and also Copán in Honduras and we have any problem, the shuttles were safe and at time, we can affirm that the transferts went well!
The Hostal is cosy and rooms perfectly clean. It also has a kitchen and a rooftop terrace where you can eat and spent good time!

"agreable"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Antoine M. of Toulouse, France
Reviewed:   October 20, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dortoir propre, douche chaude, endroit calme et proche de la place centrale, parfait pour se reposer

"Great place to call home in Antigua"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Jessica M. of Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Fantastic place! Really friendly and helpful staff and a great location close to everything.
They even looked after our bags whilst we did the Acatenango hike.
We loved it here after would definitely stay after again.

"Bed bugs"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   B H. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   July 19, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The stay would have been ok except that I got covered in bed bug bites, which made for an unpleasant following week. I contacted the hostel to let them know but they never replied, so I have no idea whether they have done anything about it. We stayed in room 5 so I would avoid that room if possible. We actually stayed there twice a couple of weeks apart (coincidentally in room 5 both times) and I got bites on both occasions. Unfortunately the bites took several hours to appear the first time and I didn't associate it with the hostel, hence why we stayed there again. But the second time there was no doubt. Aside from the bed bugs, the location is really good and it was a reasonable price for a double room with private bathroom. It's pretty noisy though if anyone is talking outside. And there wasn't much of a social vibe when we were there, although there is a nice rooftop terrace. Kitchen is ok.

"Cuidado con el precio!!!"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Cris R. of Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   January 5, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Reserve con booking a un precio y cuando llegue al hotel me dijeron que la tarifa había subido por ser en temporada alta de vacaciones!! La atención al cliente no es muy amable que digamos.... en resumen: no me volvería a hospedar ahí.


1 - 10 of 44 reviews  Next 10 results




BackpackerInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us